ESDN | European Sustainable Development Network
You are here: Home > About us and contact > ESDN steering group

The ESDN Steering Group

Due to an initiative in the framework of the Austrian EU Presidency, the ESDN Steering Group was established in a constituting meeting in Vienna in February 2006.

The ESDN Steering Group oversees network-related operations, i.e. it finances and mandates the ESDN Office and it provides guidance for the activities of the ESDN. Currently, the ESDN Steering Group consists of representatives from seven European countries:


Wolfram Tertschnig Wolfram Tertschnig
Head of the Department Sustainable Development and Environmental Subsidies, Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management
(co-chair of the Steering Group)
Elisabeth Freytag Elisabeth Freytag-Rigler
Head of the European Policy Department, Federal Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry, Environment and Water Management
(co-chair of the Steering Group)


Cedric van de Walle Cédric Van de Walle
Federal Institute for Sustainable Development
Simon Callewaert Simon Callewaert
International Policy, Federal Institute for Sustainable Development


Annika Lindblom Annika Lindblom
Ministerial Adviser, International Affairs, Ministry of the Environment
Secretary General, Finnish National Commission on Sustainable Development


Stéphane Bernaudon Stéphane Bernaudon
Policy advisor  - international affairs, NSDS unit, SD delegation, Office of the Commissioner General for SD; Ministry for Ecology, Sustainable Development and Energy


Jörg Mayer-Ries Jörg Mayer-Ries
Division General Aspects of Environmental Policy, Sustainability and Environmental Protection Strategies; Federal Minstry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety
Stefan Bauernfeind Stefan Bauernfeind
Head of the Division Sustainable Development, Federal Chancellery


Giovanni Brunelli Giovanni Brunelli
Director - Division I
Directorate General for Sustainable Development, Environmental Damage, European Union and International Affairs


Daniel Dubas Daniel Dubas
Head of Sustainable Development Section, Federal Office for Spatial Development (ARE)


This website is maintained by the
ESDN Office Team at the WU Institute for Managing Sustainability