ESDN | European Sustainable Development Network
You are here: Home > Country profiles > Sub-national

Sub-national activities


Regional SD strategies:

According to the Polish Environmental Law, all administrative regions are due to create environmental programs or plans that are coherent with national environmental policy. Except on the national level, there are three administrative levels (voivodeships, powiats, gminas) The voivodeships are subdivided into powiats (often referred to in English as counties), and these are further divided into gminas (also known as communes or municipalities). Major cities normally have the status of both gmina and powiat. Poland currently has 16 voivodeships, 379 powiats (including 65 cities with powiat status), and 2,478 gminas.


LA 21 initiatives:


The number of LA21 in Poland is unknown. There is no monitoring or reporting being done on these processes. Therefore, there is a need to initiate a survey regarding LA21 initiatives in Poland. However, it is important to emphasize that is existing inaccuracy in definition of LA21. Some of communities understand their environmental plans (documents demanded by low) as an implementation of LA21.



As mentioned above, all environmental programs and plans are strongly linked with national environmental policy. The monitoring and reporting process is also defined in the Environmental Law - every 4 years the Government presents an environmental policy report.


This Country Profile has been last updated on: Friday, 03 October 2014

For the sources used in the country profiles, please click here.


More information about Poland




This website is maintained by the
ESDN Office Team at the WU Institute for Managing Sustainability
Imprint | Privacy statement